Are m&ms Vegan

Are m&ms Vegan

Vegans out there, don’t you just hate it when you’re about to pop an M&M and you start wondering: “Is it Vegan?” What if we told you it’s time to turn that frown upside down? After much research, we have come with a satisfying answer to your pressing question. This blog post will put a final seal on the debate of whether M&Ms are vegan or not.

The Million-Dollar Question: Are M&Ms Vegan?

Let’s start by looking at the ingredient list of M&Ms. In the UK and US, M&Ms contain the following ingredients; sugar, cocoa mass, milk powder, cocoa butter, vegetable fat, lactose, whey protein, soy lecithin, starch, glucose syrup, colors (E171, E163, E160e, E100, E141, E120, E133, E160a, E150d), dextrin, glazing agents (E903, E904), and palm kernel oil. With that immense list, you might think that M&Ms are not vegan, but you would be wrong. The only ingredient, which is not vegan, is the milk powder. And fortunately, M&Ms now have a vegan range of products that address this problem.

Vegan M&Ms include the classic peanut, peanut butter, and crispy flavours in the US. Mini roll packs of the milk chocolate and peanut butter M&Ms are also accessible in some UK supermarkets. M&M’S vegan alternatives are made using rice milk, making them safe for people who avoid dairy products. So when you next go shopping, check the packaging for “vegan” labelled on them.

Another question that pops up: was there ever a non-vegan ingredient in M&Ms? Yes, the original version of M&Ms indeed used to have an ingredient that made them non-vegan – E120 cochineal or carmine. This colouring agent is made from crushed bugs, and it gives M&Ms that deep red colour. But that’s not the case anymore since 2016 when the switch was made to use natural ingredients like beet juice and annatto instead of the beetle extract.

Enough of milk and bugs talk. What exactly are vegan M&Ms made of? M&Ms vegan version replaces milk powder with rice milk powder, making it a perfect alternative to anyone who avoids animal products. However, that one ingredient substitution still leaves a lot of the product unchanged. Therefore, all the vegans out there can rejoice and throw back a pack of M&Ms knowing they have been blessed with a sweet treat they can enjoy alongside everyone else.

Final Thoughts

M&Ms are now vegan-friendly treats. The popular candy has come a long way since the days of using beetle powder for bright shades of colours. With easy access to their vegan line, anyone can now enjoy M&Ms without any guilt or hesitation. Now that we have positively answered that million-dollar question – are M&Ms vegan? It’s time to indulge in your cravings, and experience the sweet and colourful magic that M&Ms have to offer. Enjoy!

Ryan Griffiths